Before the Noche Buena

Since it looks like we won’t have any guests tonight, the family’s going to have a relatively modest noche buena for tonight.  Aside from the obligatory holiday bottle of red wine, it’s grilled veggie-stuffed bangus and liempo, with bread, rice, and possibly round holiday ham… Yeah, not that much, but I’m fearing for my weight and waistline all the same.  Maa, I guess it’s one of those things I’ll have to overlook for now. It’s rare enough for three members of our little family to be together as it is, and with nanay stuck in the US, well, to take what you can get.

All told, I shouldn’t even be typing this right now, and should instead be taking a bath already, in preparation of the Christmas Eve mass the family is going to attend later on this evening, but I feel that I have to put my thoughts down, while the experience is still fresh in my mind.  And what was it you ask is so important that I have to put a nice, hot bath on hold, do you ask?  Well, the Suzumiya Haruhi movie of course!


It’s been more than half a year since the movie aired in theaters on both sides of the Pacific, but I think this doesn’t diminish the expectation many people, especially the fans of the franchise (who were dealt a blow to their morale because of the fiasco–and let’s mince words–that was Endless Eight), for the Blu-Ray version (with subs!) to arrive.

Was the wait worth it?  Personally, I think, yes. The movie is a visual treat, in all of its high resolution glory, but this is just flavoring to the exceptionally faithful adaptation of the light novel of the same name.  It’s as fitting as a Christmas gift as any for an anime watcher, and you bet that the DVD is going to be a sure purchase for me in the future.  If it comes dubbed too, then all the better, since that will get my normally non-Japanese speaking watching family members to join in the experience as well.


Has this repaired the reputation of the studio and the franchise in the eyes of the fans? That’s up to the individual Haruhiist to figure out.

Me? I’m a Moderate, so I’m willing to give Kyoto Animation a pass… For now. Whether Kadokawa screws with that renewed faith in the future (and given the news that the release of the 10th novel was pushed back yet again, it seems likely) is yet to be seen.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I think I need to do a rewatch before that bath.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 565 other followers

