Bloated For Two

It was raining this afternoon, and by the time I usually went out for my workout at the gym the rain had intensified, so I had to settle for a nap instead.  And while the rained had stopped by the time I woke up an hour and a half or so later, I still wasn’t able to drop by the gym either, as my tita and her husband dropped by for yet another afternoon visit.  This time around, they wanted to treat us to dinner at their hotel, and out of politeness as well as the fact that it was their treat.  Since my sister had work tonight, she wasn’t able to come along… which meant I pretty much had to make up for that absence.

So me and my father got dressed up, and headed over to the hotel, where the four of us proceeded to the restaurant at the rooftop.  Since it was pretty early in the evening it was relatively empty, and aside from us there were only two other tables occupied — one with two pairs of caucasians who looked like they’d just finished off several bottles of San Miguel beer already (and this was before I saw that the food they had apparently ordered arrived a few minutes after our group got there), another with a Westerner and what looked like his local beau.

After we ordered food (and my tita’s husband had to excuse himself for a bit to take his daily insulin shot) things turned a bit… awkward.  I swear, my father just can’t shut up sometimes.  It’s like he likes hearing the sound of his voice, and as his sister listened patiently to him ramble, I could just roll my eyes and shake my head whenever she looked my way.

When uncle came back, it wasn’t too long of a wait until the food we ordered arrived.  While it would be stretching it to say it was a spread (two large platters of bistek tagalog since there wasn’t any squid for calamares, a bowl of sinigang na baboy, and a platter of lechong kawali), the amount of rice ordered (garlic rice and chao fan enough for two people each, and two cups plain rice on the side) made sure that none of us would get away with not getting stuffed during the evening.  I was literally eating for two people this time, but I figured that it’s going to be a while before tita and her husband could come visit again, so I decided what the hey?  I’ll just have to make up for the surplus over the next few days by cutting down on my intake more than usual, as well as my session at the gym.

After we were done with the food (strangely enough only the two extra cups of plain rice remained), we thanked tita and went on our way.  There was going to be a despedida party for them tomorrow at one of our other relative’s place, but while we were again invited I had work tomorrow, and tatay could only promise that he could try to go (hah!).

After me and my father got home, I had to fight the urge to lie down and just sleep, I was so full.  Even now, I feel like someone dropped a lead weight into my innards.  Urgh. 

Leave a comment