Surviving On Bit By Bit

With the shift back of an hour on my schedule, I’m suddenly faced with the fact that I’m going to have to wake up even earlier just to avoid being late for work, and even then then it might not be enough.  Why?  Because what I discovered when I got to the MRT station around five-forty this morning… was a massive line, larger than I’d ever seen, and what was worse, it wasn’t moving and  had more or less clogged the passageway people use to cross over to the other side of EDSA.  It was a hot mess, with people shoving each other, and some of the more annoyed ones shouting and making an audible fuss.  

Just to show how bad it was, it was around six-twenty before there was any movement, much less letting the sweating masses in.  Ugh.  At least I was able to just jump into a train once I got down to the platform, but if that’s going to be what’s going to happen every day for the duration of the summer, then I’m definitely not looking forward to it.

In the end, I was able to get to work on time, but even so that’s less than ten minutes to spare before having to log in.  What. The. Heck.

With my situation at work as it is, I obviously had to watch myself(and what I said on-phone) for the rest of the day.  It wasn’t helped by the fact that we had a surprise visit by some foreign dignitaries around lunch time (which really did surprise some people, who were napping in between calls).  Lucky for me it was lunch at the time, but still…

Oh yeah, I got to work to find that Workforce WODC had no idea of my real schedule, and put it in as 6 to 12:45 rather than my actual 7:00 to 2:00 AM.  Had to get that quickly fixed before it confused people, specifically myself.

And then there’s the fact that today was my payday… except as the usual with these things, I wasn’t able to actually enjoy my pay, as it had a good chunk of it deducted by taxes, leaving me with about five thousand-nine hundred pesos.  That amount got reduced even further, when I had to take four thousand from it to pay both the VISA and the Mastercard charges I’m expecting.  This left me with less than a thousand and seven-hundred to tide me over until next payday.  Needless to say, I’m not happy.  Not happy at all.

Did I mention it rained too, as I was heading home?  It was a perfect capper to an otherwise less-than-optimal day.

Leave a Reply

