Here I Am, A Year Older, Again

I hate to admit it, but I didn’t actually go to sleep last night, as I had stayed up through the wee hours transferring  files between my hard drives to the new external.  As a result, by the time it was five in the morning, I didn’t bother to go to bed anymore, and instead went down to take a bath, in preparation for the morning mass.  And so I went… except for most of it I had my eyes closed, though I tried my best to listen to the proceedings.  I didn’t fall asleep, but there were a whole lot of chances to do so, given the tendency of our parish priest to ramble during homilies.  And ramble he did.  To put things in perspective, a normal mass lasts only about an hour.  This mass started at six in the morning and ended at fifteen minutes to eight.

I ran into my father waiting outside the church, though it was straight home for me.  I didn’t go to sleep then either, and waited for my father to come back, and my sister to send an SMS message on her status, as we were going to meet up at the Mall of Asia for a family lunch.

Tatay and I eventually left at around ten-thirty, so we could scope the place out.  It’s a Japanese charcoal grill place named Tajimaya,  and the two of us waited for a while until my sister and her family arrived.  When they did, it was off inside to reserve one of the eight-person booths, as we were also expecting my cousin and her kids, plus lola (our mother’s mom).  It took a while for them to arrive though, so we helped ourselves to one of the two Set As we ordered.

It was great, though there were quite a lot of burned meat at the beginning, as the charcoal was quite hot for the first half hour or so.  By the time my cousin and our grandmother arrived though, the embers had almost gone out, which made cooking much slower; we had to ask for newer charcoal to be put in eventually.

Oh, and I was worried that the money I had withdrawn today would be enough to cover things, so I actually had to run out and do another withdrawal after my cousin arrived.  Turned out that was a good choice, as I easily spent almost five thousand pesos just for the food and drinks.

When we were done, it was off to Dairy Queen inside MOA to have some iced cream (I choose the mango cheesecake flavor, by the way), while lola and my cousin went off to buy crepes.  By the end of that though we were quite full, which is just as well, as the kids (specifically my sister’s son) was getting antsy.  So we said goodbye to our relatives (with the caveat that lola was going to stay at our place this week), and started on the way home, though my sister and her family didn’t stay with us for the rest of the weekend.

Once we got home, we hurriedly put the laundry that was already dried inside the house just in case it rained, but for me that was it.  I went upstairs, changed into more comfy house clothes, and went to bed, as stuffed as a bear before winter. Yeesh.

So, yeah, my birthday was okay. 😉

One Response to Here I Am, A Year Older, Again

  1. Alain Gravel says:

    Happy birthday 🙂 (well, I guess it’s the next day now on your corner of the world – close enough, hehe)

Leave a Reply

