Market Duties

I woke up early today, because I had to go to the market to buy vegetables and a few other things for the week. I slipped out at around four-thirty, and was off to the wet market before the sun was up. I ended up buying a kilo of beef, as well as dried fish, chopped jackfruit, ginger, green peppers, and coconut milk. It’s not difficult to see what I had planned on preparing for lunch (ginataang langka), but aside from preparing the ingredients, I kind of left it to either my father or uncle to finish.

The sun was up by the time I got home, but after prepping the ingredients for our lunchtime meal, it was off to the bathroom to take a bath, and then upstairs for a short nap.

As for the ginataan itself? It turned out well, as it was a recipe my father had more than enough experience preparing, and it wasn’t too salty or spicy either. It’s kind of a shame though that the daing I chose still had all sorts of bones in it.

I spent the rest of the afternoon reading for a change, though as I was going with online PDFs, it was very tiring on the eyes, and I had to stop eventually. For the curious, it was Lest Darkness Fall and its “sequel” The Apotheosis of Martin Padway.

I’ll have to get back to watching tomorrow instead, though that also might have to wait, as I have another job interview lined up for tomorrow morning.

P.S. It was dreadfully hot again as usual, and nearly impossible for me to get a decent nap without the a/c running.

Leave a Reply

