Watching by the Numbers

Since I didn’t have any work this morning, I was able to join in the simultaneous viewing of the Gundam 00 movie: A wakening of the Trailblazer scheduled by Ghostlightning, Crusader, Executive Otaku, David Tijerino, and Foshizzle through the Standing Committee for the Coordination of Simultaneous Viewing of Anime (to be mentioned from this point on as SCCSVA) last night.  Now I’ve done anime group-watching before (with my friends back in college) but this was the first time I’ve ever watched something together with the authors of the anime blogs I normally visit.  In some ways it was very different, but in other ways it was the same sort of heckling of shows that old friends normally do when they got together.

And there was quite a bit to heckle. That’s not even getting into the ham-fisted shipping bait (Billy x Neena, Feldt x Setsuna, Milleina x Tiera) the movie seems to have thrown in for the heck of it, oh no…

Gundam 00 is an entertaining movie, no question, but if you’re looking for cerebral entertainment (not that some people won’t try to interpret things in an ‘educated’ manner just for argument’s sake) this isn’t the movie to watch. Much like the Nanoha 1st movie, you watch this for the pretty explosions and light shows caused by mobile suits spamming beam weaponry against their enemies.  You do NOT watch for the plot, as the movie was pretty much almost 70% (high quality animated) fast-paced battle after battle.

In essence, it’s the opposite of the Disappearance of Suzumiya Haruhi movie, which while moving at the pace of a Galapagos Tortoise was almost 90% plot and 10% yandere Asakura Ryoko.

Now, I wasn’t one of those who found the movie terrible even prior to the joint viewing (I get entertained easily), but I think those who did found the group viewing therapeutic, or I dare say cathartic, as for them it made the viewing more tolerable. To quote a friend, it helped spread the pain around to the point where it was a nagging annoyance instead of something thoroughly painful to continue. That said, the movie isn’t likely to help with the impressions of those who didn’t like Gundam 00 to begin with. For the more casual viewer though, my advice is just try to watch the movie without any preconceptions, as you’ll enjoy yourself better that way.

Hmm… Does this mean that my first foray into the world of simultaneous group viewing went well? I’d say yes. I’m looking forward to future joint viewings, though with the start of classes and work, I’m not sure I can join in as many sessions as I’d like.

4 thoughts on “Watching by the Numbers

  1. Good shows get an unfair shake (they get ruined, really), and terrible shows become enjoyable or tolerable.

    For me, not even the good camaraderie helped. Maybe it’s because Skype became a bitch like Veda in S2 but this too is my rewatch so I expected much from having people around.

    You forgot about Milleina x Tieria WHAT

  2. I wanted to be part of this viewing so badly but I had watched it before hand and friend had come over so I was unable to attend! I’m glad you enjoyed what little there was to be enjoyed though XD Friends make everything worthwhile! XD

    I’ll second that Shinmaru is the best heckle possible!!!

Leave a comment