Flummoxed And Still Processing

Since I didn’t have anything else important to do, I finally gathered the nerve to go to school and check whether or not the final results to my comprehensive exam were out.  It turns out that I wasn’t the only one who had that idea, as despite the fact it was already twelve noon there were two other examinees there already waiting.  So I had to force myself to be patient as we were each called in turn.  I think my heart was in my throat for most of the wait, which was why when my turn came I just wanted for it to be over with, though I suppose I also hoped and dreaded the actual result.

And what was the result?  Well the little printout that was given to me said it all: I had passed both segments of the Comprehensive Exam.  It was a Low Pass result though, but it was a pass! 

I shook the hand of our faculty advisor in relief (and thanks), but I think at that point I was still having trouble processing the news.  Heck, even now I’m having a hard time processing the fact that I passed, especially since I was so sure that I fudged the Exegesic Essay badly (and the lost list of comments by the professor who graded my submission says as much).

So what now?  I apparently have to prepare my thesis abstract, and have it ready for submission by the end of the Holy Week.  No pressure huh?

Oh, and I did somehow buy something that was going to be used for the barbecue (more than a pound of liempo cuts) tomorrow.  It’s all cut up and marinated to, and should be ready for cooking for Tatay’s arrival tomorrow evening.  Come to think of it, since we rarely buy liempo anyway, it could be seen as a means of celebration for my passing too.

P.S. It was intermittently rainy and sunny for the whole day, and it actually started raining while I was at the Literature Department, but by the time I actually went to the grocery to buy the meat, it had gone sunny again.  Comes to show how the city weather doesn’t really follow the usual expectations, right now as we’re at the start of summer.

Leave a comment